Organ of Tulle's Cathedrale

Bertrand Cattiaux 2008

Tulle Disposition III/P 44
II Grand-Orgue 65n. I Positif 56n. III Swell 56n.
Montre 16' Salicional 8' Quintaton 16'
Bourdon 16' Bourdon 8' Flûte traversière 8'
Montre 8' Prestant 4' Viole de gambe 8'
Flûte harmonique 8' Flûte 4' Voix céleste 8'
Viole 8' Nazard 2 2/3' Flûte octaviante 4'
Bourdon 8' Doublette 2' Quinte 2 2/3'
Prestant 4' Tierce 1 3/5' Octavin 2'
Fourniture prog. II-VI rgs Larigot 1 1/3' Cornet V rgs (g2)
Plein jeu V rgs Plein-jeu IV-V rgs Trompette 8'
Bombarde 16' Cromorne 8' Basson-Hautbois 8'
Trompette 8'     Clairon 4'
Clairon 4'     Voix humaine 8'
Cornet V rgs (c3)        
Pedal 30n.        
Soubasse 32'        
Soubasse 16'        
Flûte 16'        
Flûte 8'        
Flûte 4'        
Bombarde 16'        
Trompette 8'        
Clairon 4'        

Mecanic trackerand stop action
Couplers: III/II, I/II, I/P, II/P, III/P
Reed combinations: I, II, III, P
Swell tremulant


Tulles's Cathedral owned an organ since the end of the 16th century. Unfortunately there are no further information about this instrument.

In 1796, the organ in the north transept was destroied because of the demolission of the choir and the transepts. The cathedral stayed without organ until 1840 although the church was used for celebrations since 1804.

A deal was made with the organbuilder John Abbey for an organ of 31 stops that was also presented at the paris exposition in 1939.

The swell has been completed in 1858 by Wenner et Gotty.

In 1884, the vault over the organ has been destroyed making the organ unusable until the year 1893 when the belgian organbuilder Anessens d'Halluin worked on it.

Two stops were added in 1912 by Roger, later a restauration followed in1948 by Puget.

The organ is declared historic monument in 1971 which leads to a reconstruction by Haerpfer & Erman using the old pipes and under the authority of Marie-Claire Alain. The Barker machine is removed, the organcase modified and a back positif was added.

In the years 2001 and 2002, the organ has been cleaned and completely revoiced by the Atelier Bertrand Cattiaux.